E3 2015 Predictions

Finally, it’s that time of year again.  Time for me to pull predictions out of thin air and hope they magically come to fruition so that I feel a little bit better about myself.  As I look over my notes from last year’s predictions, the only one I was off on was Microsoft mentioning Gears of War and Sony announcing an Infamous Vita game.  Granted, I did play it quite safe last year.  I tried to be a bit more ambitious this year, considering this is my first prediction that will be posted online.  I’m only focusing on Microsoft, Sony, and Nintendo, but I’ll add an “other” category for everything else.


Microsoft

Honestly, I’m a little clueless on what to expect from Microsoft.  The one solid bet I had and something I was looking forward to was learning more about Quantum Break.  Then, of course, it was announced that it will be skipping E3 this year and be shown at Gamescom.  I’m really curious what is in store for that game since it was marketed to be so involved with a television series by the now defunct Xbox TV team.

Gears of War HD Collection will definitely show up, given all the leaks, but they’ll announce a new, formal Gears game for Xbox One as well.  Nothing more than a title card though.

Halo, Halo, Halo.

Rumors are circulating around a new title being announced by Platinum, it’d fit good in the Microsoft presser.

With Windows 10 coming, Microsoft will find a way to work it in with the Xbox crowd, in a cool, but useless way.

I’ve somewhat distanced myself from Microsoft in the last few years, if you couldn’t tell by my “predictions.”  Their conferences have been flat and they really have nothing to show for it.  They have the most to gain in their presser, so I’m looking forward to it.


Sony

THE LAST GUARDIAN.

But no seriously, this is the year, right?  Last year there was a ton going on involving the game, with someone stating it was dead, then Shu stating it wasn’t, right before E3.  I could see that encouraging Sony to throw something out there to show it’s alive and well, especially since nobody expects it again and it’d shock the world.  Nevermind, I changed my mind, it will never happen.

Titanfall 2 will be announced on the Sony stage.  It won’t be exclusive, but Sony will be making a statement by revealing it to the world on their stage.

Sony dropping the Vita to a ridiculous price and committing to marketing it as a PS4 accessory.

PS Now catalogue expanding to Playstation 2 titles.

PS4 system update that includes access to PS Classics.  Chalk this one up as wishful thinking, more than a prediction.  It was a bummer discovering the PS4 didn’t have access to the classics.  With the announcement during the Playstation Experience that a new version of FFVII is coming to the PS4 with trophies, it makes it seem like the originals won’t be making the leap unless they receive this sort of special treatment.

I expect Sony to keep applying the pressure they have been in previous years at E3.  I’m afraid their movie studio will play a larger role this year with the upcoming Ratchet and Clank movie.


Nintendo

Oh boy, Nintendo.  I will say I really enjoyed their digital event last year.  I like new Nintendo, embracing the ability to be different.

They’ll give us an actual name for the new Zelda and a lengthy demo.  Just to assure us things aren’t burning down since they had to delay it.

Ditto for Star Fox, but the big reveal will be that it releases this holiday.  Please have a good online component.

Pokemon Wii U.  Okay, maybe just a new one for 3DS.

An all new, original Mario game.  Mario was completely absent from Nintendo’s event last year, so he’ll return in big fashion this year.

More Xenoblade, please!

It’s really difficult to predict what Nintendo will show, given that they have made such a big deal out of their random Nintendo Direct shows.  Nintendo doesn’t really need E3 to announce things at this point.


Other

As soon as I saw the Fallout 4 trailer I felt that it had to come out this year.  Now there are tons of rumors and retailers leaking that it is indeed due out this year, so I expect that to be a huge announcement.

Star Wars Battlefront and/or Rainbow Six Siege will get alpha/beta demos soon, maybe exclusive to one of the consoles.

The Division gameplay featuring actors.

Release dates for Mirror’s Edge and Kingdom Hearts.

Valve will show off their home stuff.


As always, E3 is going to be a blast to watch.  The biggest reveals are already out in the open it seems, so I really don’t expect any mouth dropping moments.  I’ll be sure to update during E3 containing some of my thoughts about the news and updates, so stay tuned.

One thought on “E3 2015 Predictions”

Leave a Reply

