E3 2015 Day 1 Thoughts (Nintendo, Square Enix)

The most disappointing day for video games ever (har har har).


Nintendo

Nintendo managed to show off three of my most anticipated games, and I still felt really disappointed in their show.

They started with Star Fox Zero, which wasn’t a surprise by any means.  It was announced last year and only shown off behind closed doors.  It has no continuity from the previous games, which I guess doesn’t matter, but I don’t understand why you’d need to re-imagine a game like Star Fox Zero.  I was pleasantly surprised to see the addition of the ship transformation to a chicken-walker-like mech, which was originally an idea from the unreleased Star Fox 64 2.  I don’t get why they didn’t just put that on the e-shop like they did with the unreleased Earthbound game.  There were a few alternate vehicles to explore in, but overall Star Fox looked underwhelming.  As I have stated previously, I don’t care about graphics, but given how great Nintendo’s first party games have looked recently, such as in Mario Kart 8, Super Smash Bros, and Super Mario 3D World, I can’t help but to feel let down by the visuals.  Star Fox is known for big space battles and explosions, the opportunity is there to wow with graphics, but this demo looked like something I’d see on the regular Wii.  I wonder if there’s an online element to the game, that could change everything.  I haven’t given up on Star Fox Zero, but I am let down.  It’ll be on the stage show later today, so I’m excited to learn more.

Then Nintendo brought up their new console, codenamed NX.  All they said was to expect to hear about it next year.  That really, really bothered me.  Just don’t mention it, Nintendo.  Now I feel like my Wii U is worthless, especially considering there wasn’t much announced for it this year.  I’m sure they’ll support it for a while no matter what, but regardless, that really brings me down as a consumer of theirs.

The obligatory Zelda segment came up next.  I’m a new Zelda fan, if you read my blog about Fallout, you’ll know why.  But I really wish Nintendo would shelf it for just a year, at least.  It seems like every E3 for the last multiple years have had big Zelda moments.  Zelda is great, but it’s really over-saturated at this moment.  They gave Mario a break at last year’s E3, so I expected Zelda to get a break this year, since the Wii U title got delayed and the Hyrule Warriors 3DS got leaked already.  I’m just tired of seeing big Zelda presentations year after year at Nintendo.  But that’s the Nintendo formula right?  Trying to make the same old things fresh.

While we’re on the downside of this Nintendo event, I might as well point out the Metroid Prime disappointment.  I’m not much for the Metroid series, but a ton of people are, so I respect that.  Rumors were rampant that a new Prime game was in development and I really hoped it was true.  Nah, it was just a spinoff game for 3DS, that’s what you wanted, right? Right?

Okay, I’ll stop burying this event now, I really didn’t hate it.

Fire Emblem showed off two games, both I’m pretty excited for.  Fire Emblem Awakening hooked me and I couldn’t put it down until I beat it.  I wanted to play it again, but never got around to it.  I’m all for a new one, and especially one that’s tied into the SMT universe.

Xenoblade Chronicles X.  I really have nothing to say.  This game looks amazing.  

Yo Kai Watch looks really interesting, I’m not sold on it yet though.  It looks like Pokemon, but not.  I’ll be keeping an eye on it.

Mario and Luigi Paper Jam was really interesting, as it crossed the Mario universe for the first time and tied together Paper Mario and Mario and Luigi.  It reminded me that I should finish the Mario and Luigi game currently on my 3DS.  Those games are great fun, but it never really got me addicted.

Finally was Super Mario Maker.  Amiibo support was added which I think looks great.  The amiibo will enter your game as a character depending on what version you’re running.  A pixelated Toon Link is possible, in theory.  I’m really interested to see some of those in action.  Announced with it was a giant 8-bit Mario amiibo which I want so, so bad, but I know I won’t get.  While talking about the game, Miyamoto explained how he designed the maps and levels in the original Mario games all on graph paper, and even showed off the original copies of it they still had.  Something about this was really warming to me, it showed off how far technology and game design has come.  This led up to the reveal that Super Mario Maker will come with a special artbook.  This is a day one buy for me.

Nintendo’s event was the worst of the big three.  A couple of amazing games can’t make up for all the disappointment.  It wasn’t awful, but disappointing.  Have I said the word disappointing yet?


Square Enix

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this conference, I wasn’t incredibly interested, but was welcoming what it had to offer.

Just Cause 3 started us off and it really looked like the develops have learned from Just Cause 2 and the mod community, to find out what it exactly is that the players want to see and do in that game.  A game like Just Cause could really benefit with some direction like that in it.  This game looked like a ton of ridiculous fun and I have high hopes.

The Kingdom Hearts 3 demo left me somewhat indifferent.  There were guns, I think that’s new.  I didn’t see any Disney themed levels, I totally could have missed it though, I’m not on top of the modern Disney scene.  There was no timetable, not even a year given, that is scary to me.

Deus Ex Mankind Divided is running on an all new engine.  I might be wrong, but I’m pretty positive they said that you’re fighting the Illuminati in this game.  Just like real-life.

After what felt like a show that had a ton of focus on mobile platforms, a brand new IP was announced with a few snaps of concept art.  It’s built by a brand new team and will be out in 2016.  I’m all for Square Enix doing something new, considering their key franchise has well over 15 entries.

That was it for Square Enix.  It was really weird. Really weird (see above image). The translator was awful, or maybe the public speakers were, I couldn’t tell.


So all the conferences are over, now it’s time to dig into individual games.  Stay tuned for more.

Leave a Reply

