Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens (Spoiler Free) Review

Let me begin by saying that I have never been a huge Star Wars fan. I never gave in to the culture and fandom it spawned. Sure, lightsabers are cool, Darth Vader is legendary, Yoda is pretty neat, but overall, the movies just never did anything for me.

The announcement of the new movie and hype leading up to its release I met with indifference.

Since I knew I would watch it when it came out with my friends, I decided to try and make the most of it… So I did not watch any trailers or teasers and tried my best to avoid any type of information about the film until I went and watched it (great idea by the way, you should try it).

That said…

Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens is a spectacle.

Seeing “STAR WARS” blast on the theater screen with the trademark theme blasting made me feel like I was witnessing something special.

I’ll keep this somewhat brief, because I don’t want to give away too much.

The Force Awakens is a true space adventure, unlike any space movie I’ve seen in recent years. The worlds and creatures are imaginative and fun to witness.

The main characters in the film are all interesting and each offer a story that left me wanting to know more.

The performances are all spot on, as well. Which is remarkable considering I’ve never heard of a large majority of this cast.

My complaint about The Force Awakens is that is a bit too parallel to Episode IV: A New Hope.

I want to call The Force Awakens formulaic, and in the grand scheme of things, it very well may be, but it throws enough monkey wrenches to make things feel fresh.

The formulaic nature makes it feel predictable, then 1/3 through the movie this happens, which left me saying “Oh… okay.”

The Force Awakens is the introductory movie in a brand new trilogy in every sense. You’re gonna meet a lot of people. You’re gonna have a lot of unanswered questions. 

I am concerned that with two more movies in this trilogy already confirmed, and a spin off movie coming next year, this special feeling will stop being special, and become commonplace.

Regardless, Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens lays foundation for what is to come, and I can’t wait to see where it goes.

Quick note: If you’ve had the movie “spoiled” for you, don’t worry. There is no one, end all, be all spoiler for this movie. The only way I could see a spoiler ruining the movie is if you were told the entire plot. So go see it anyways.

Leave a Reply

